OEPS! We did it again!

August 28, 2011 9:17 pm
posted by admin

On 26 August 2011 our cross country athletes competed in the Noordvaal cross country final held in Potchefstroom.  There were 29 high schools who qualified for the competition.  For our girl’s team it was a golden opportunity to take some revenge on our bitter rivals Monument who won this competition in 2010.  Another concerning fact was that our girls team was denied a victory in the qualifying event 2 weeks prior to the final by the determined Kempton Park girls team.  Our boy’s team had a huge red target on their backs due to the fact that they have won this competition for the past 11 years and every single team had one goal and one goal alone and that was to beat Vorentoe.  The stage was set for an exciting event.


For those who don’t know, here is a quick lesson in the points scoring system used in cross country.  In contradiction to many other sports codes, in cross country the team with the least amount of points win.  The boys and girls teams consist out of a junior and senior division.  You are allowed a maximum of 6 athletes and not less than 4 in each division.  The first 4 athletes per school that finishes the race are awarded points.  The athletes are awarded the same amount of points, according to the position that they finish in, for example if your athletes come in at position 1, 8, 9, 19, 25 and 30, you will have 37 points.  They then add the total of your junior team with the total of your senior team to calculate the overall boy’s and girl’s winners.

The teams:

Junior girls:

Innocent Marandela

Thandi Sehohle

Florentina Langa

Boingotlo Babedi

Jeannette Bokadie

Junior boys:

Khanyili Khonco

Bheki Thsabalala

Ikageng Goarekwe

Thabang Thebeagae

Mafika Cunukela

Derrick Mokaleng

Senior girls:

Nashipi Nobhangaye

Sanah Kgosi

Murendwa Davhana

Zanele Sikalala

Moroesi Mohapi

Dimpho Mokheti

Senior boys: 

Morena Mokoena

Alfred Mphuthi

Siswe Boqashi

Thabang Matiwane

Lindo Maseko

Felix Mapfungautsi


Vorentoe blasted away the competition and was crowned the 2012 boy’s and girl’s Noordvaal winners. 

Take a look at these outstanding results:


1.  Vorentoe 48 points

2.  Monument 96 points

3.  Prestige College 125 points


1.  Vorentoe 72 points

2.  Monument 127 points

3.  Prestige College 138 points  


Although Cross Country is a team event there were also some individual performances that is worth mentioning. 

Murendwa Davhana won the senior girls race.

Siswe Boqashi got a silver medal in the senior boy’s race.

Alfred Mputhi got a bronze medal in the senior boy’s race.

Ikageng Goarekwe got a silver medal in the junior boy’s race. 


Congratulations to Vorentoe’s girl’s team who have won this competition for the 10th time in 12 years.  Boy’s you are the greatest for winning this competition for the 12th time in a row. 


None of this would be possible without the hard work, dedication and inspirational leadership by the coaches.  Congratulations to Mr Saestad our principle, who tirelessly train, motivate and encourage the athletes to perform to the best of their abilities.  Mr Saestad you ROCK.  Also congratulations to Mr Maruping who is Mr Saestad’s right hand man for all the hard work that he put in throughout the season.

Leave a Reply